Return to Northern Squash Club homepage.

Dave North

Northumbria Senior County Closed 2017

Dave North - Tue 10 Jan 2017

The County’s Premier event is back and will be held at Tynemouth Squash Club between 16th – 22nd January 2017

The County’s Premier event is back and will be held at Tynemouth Squash Club between 16th – 22nd January 2017 for the Ladies, Men’s Graded, Doubles & Racketball Events and 19th – 22nd January for the Men’s Event.

There will be a Men’s, Men’s graded Events, Men’s O45, Men’s O55, Men’s O60, Ladies, Ladies O40, Racketball and the ever popular Doubles events.

The entry fee is £10 and £3 for any additional event.

Confirmation of eligibility rules for entry:

All entrants in the Championships must be current members of ESR at the time of participation.
A player is qualified to play in the County Closed Championships if they have resided continuously in Northumberland for the three months preceding the start of the season (1st October) and are still residing.
A residential qualification cannot be obtained through a school, university, college or other place of further/higher education or training unless a player’s bona fide (proper) home is in the same county as the school or university, e.g., unless they are a permanent member of the resident staff.
The Championships are only open to players who have not played in any other County Closed Championship in the last 12 months.
If not a British Citizen – Rights of Residency apply – A player must have resided (subject to all other points above) in the UK for 1 continuous year (365 days).
In all cases where a player’s qualification is in doubt, it is obligatory for the Player to prove the qualification to the satisfaction of the Northumbria Squash Rackets Association (NSRA).
Please help to promote these events by printing out and displaying the poster below on your club noticeboards so everyone gets to know it is happening, lets have another bumper entry this year!

2016 County Champions:
Men’s – Dave Barnett
Men’s B – Max Foster
Men’s C – Matthew Carr
Men’s D – Simon Broach
Men’s E – Henry Darragh
Men’s O45 – Jon Evans
Men’s O55 – Jon Evans
Men’s O60 – Steve Cubbins
Ladies – Hannah Cliff
Ladies O40 – Nicky Dobson
Doubles – Jon & Sam Evans
Racketball – Simon Long

Count down to the closing date of the 12th of January is now on…

For more details (inc entries fo far) go to

Entries by email to or alternatively use the form on Northumbria Squash website

Latest club news